1989 vmax?

Get your questions answered here! Also be courteous and answer any you may know. Its a give and take kinda thing, we think you'll enjoy!
81srx

1989 vmax?

Post by 81srx »

i am getting an 89 vmax, i know the guy and hes getting rid of it for 300! it needs a head gasket, and the rear suspension needs to be done, but it was set up for racing, so the light is fibreglasseed up, and there is a angle iron widening kit on it -.- i just want to know if theres anything i should be aware of with these sleds? im new to these
YAMAHA ALL THE WAY!!!!
Sleds
2001 srx 700 (bender can) :D
1998 vmax xt 600
1991 exciter 570 (bender pipe) :D
1981 srx 440
Vmax540

Re: 1989 vmax?

Post by Vmax540 »

Hello, and welcome to V.V. ! Sounds interesting, I would do a complete inspection before laying out the cash for such a sled. Many questions such as, why a blown head gasket which could be piston issues or simply a stuck 30 year old thermostat ? The angle iron widening kit definately needs to be inspected. Is the headlight useable or do you need a new hood, is the oil injection intact are all questions that may end up costing you money. As you can see here viewtopic.php?f=2&t=585 the 89's as any of the Canadian models are rare and hard to find. Post some pictures.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PFb6NU1giRA
"I prefer dangerous freedom over peaceful slavery." Thomas Jefferson
81srx

Re: 1989 vmax?

Post by 81srx »