85 vmax electrical

Get your questions answered here! Also be courteous and answer any you may know. Its a give and take kinda thing, we think you'll enjoy!
stinger440

85 vmax electrical

Post by stinger440 »

Hey everyone. I am new to the vmax world. I just picked up an 85. Its going to be my main rider this year so I am going completely through it.

The guy I got it from said it lost spark and that it was the cdi. He already had the cdi box, ecu box and airbox all removed. I have good parts to put in but I can't figure out where the electrial boxes mount. I know this is a dumb question but this thing is a different world to me.

Also there is no key switch for the machine, do I have to have one to get spark?

Thanks, going to be a lot more questions to come.
Whoever said "Moderation in all things" Never won anything
opsled

Post by opsled »

Hi Stinger, Welcome to the world of Vintage Vmax. The CDI is mounted to the bulkhead in front and below the fuel pumps. The ECU is mounted to the air box next to the coils. It will run without a key as long as the switch is unplugged from the harness.
Good Luck, Phil (opsled)

P.S. Pics are of CDI and ECU mounting.

stinger440

Post by stinger440 »

Thanks so much for the picture.

And its not that there isn't a key. There is no ignition switch there at all. So it has to be unplugged :)

The air box is out right now. I plan to leave it out, get everything plugged in and check for spark before I pull the carbs to clean them.
opsled

Post by opsled »