Clutch Help needed for Project Sexy-Max

Get your questions answered here! Also be courteous and answer any you may know. Its a give and take kinda thing, we think you'll enjoy!
KylejSmith

Clutch Help needed for Project Sexy-Max

Post by KylejSmith »

I have a 1985 Vmax I bought last year and have spent countless hours rebuilding it from the ground up. i'm on the final stages and took it out for a test drive last weekend, the clutch was not engaging properly and sled would not go above 60 KM/H. After inspecting the clutch (Comet 108C, Orange/silver spring, A-2 Weights, 1 1/4" belt) it is cracked in 2 places. So i'm one more large expense away from finishing this project!!.

I'm a novice wrench head and all the clutch topics on here have made my eye cross. I am going to have to buy a complete new clutch with weights and spring, so if I have to spend the big bucks I'd like to buy a setup that will be a good starting point for me. I have recently replaced the PSI exhaust that was on the machine with the factory exhaust, not sure if that will matter with spring/weight selection.

I guess I'm looking for someone to tell me a good clutch,weight,spring setup to buy that will get me running pretty good until further adjustments can be made. I'm in Alberta, Canada Elevation is 2800 ft were I live. We like to trail ride in the mountains at times which takes us to 5400 ft. So a setup in between this would be nice. I'm not a drag racer, and prefer a blistering fast trail ride and the odd long straight sack-tucking wide open stretch.

Like I said, i'm a little wet behind the ears to this clutch setup world so any advice would be great.

(I'll post pics of the Sexy-Max if I can figure out how.)
Attachments
IMG_2873.JPG
IMG_2910.JPG
IMG_2908.JPG
IMG_2909.JPG
Bob Vehring

Re: Clutch Help needed for Project Sexy-Max

Post by Bob Vehring »